NPWAwards 2022: Shortlists Announced

The North‚Äôs Got Talent 

Trailblazers from all sectors including media, tech, finance, charity and academia have been shortlisted for the Northern Power Women Awards 2022 sponsored by EY.  

With a near two-year gap between the last round of nominations, the North certainly hasn‚Äôt disappointed with its triumphant celebration of Northern talent¬†as this¬†year’s¬†awards saw 1400 role models nominated.¬†Whittling down the¬†nominations¬†to just 83 individuals¬†and¬†organisations¬†was a mammoth task for the 72¬†judges who discussed,¬†debated¬†and¬†ultimately¬†decided¬†who would be put¬†through to¬†the shortlist.¬†

Alison Kay, Managing Partner for Client Service at EY, UK and Ireland, commented:¬†“A huge congratulations to all the nominees, who are shortlisted for the Northern Power Women Awards 2022. We saw first-hand, throughout the judging process, just how high the calibre of nominations¬†were¬†this year; reaching this shortlist is a huge achievement. EY are very proud to support an event that recognises so many powerful role models from across the North.”¬†

Since the first NPWAwards 6,040 individuals and organisations have been nominated, whose achievements and commitment have been celebrated garnering a staggering 126 million impressions across social media. With representation across all northern regions it is the only pan-north celebration, with 57% of those shortlisted hailing from the North West, 24% from the North East, and 19% from the Yorkshire. 

The NPWAwards is never just for one night and throughout the year individuals and organisations are recognised for the true northern grit that they exhibit, whilst cracking on and shifting the dial. Professor Shirley Congdon, Pro Vice Chancellor of the University of Bradford, Ann-Marie Atkins, Managing Partner at Tilney Smith and Williamson and Afiya Amesu, Co-founder of She Leads for Legacy have all been shortlisted whilst Bank of America has been shortlisted for Large Organisation. Becky Ballantyne, Business Change Manager at Sellafield and Dianne Richardson, Chief Executive of Britain’s Energy Coast Business Cluster have both been shortlisted for Agent of Change and Tensar have made it onto the shortlist for Medium Organisation. 

Simone Roche MBE,¬†founder¬†and CEO of Northern Power Women, said¬†‚ÄúI¬†have once again been wowed by the high calibre of nominations we received¬†and¬†again we are¬†adding to the hall¬†of role models¬†to inspire both current and future generations to use their¬†PoWEr¬†for good and advance gender equality together.‚Ä̬†

The winners of the Northern Power Women Awards will be announced on the 21st of March 2022 at a gala awards night and dinner at the Manchester Central Convention Complex. The Power List and Future List will be announced on 8th February at 11am. 


Category Name Organisation Region 
Agent of Change  Becky Ballantyne Sellafield Ltd North West 
Agent of Change  Alexandra Knight Stemazing North East 
Agent of Change  Glynn Potts Blessed John Henry Newman RC College North West 
Agent of Change  Dianne Richardson Britain’s Energy Coast Business Cluster North West 
Agent of Change Dr Giulia Sirigu Inventya/Innovate UK EDGE North West 
Agent of Change  Ann Stonehouse Assist North East 
Agent of Change  Fareeha Usman Being Woman North East 
Agent of Change  Laura Wood Invisible Creations North East 
Disruptor for Good  Nazir Afzal OBE ‚ÄĮ North West 
Disruptor for Good  Bethany Ainsley OptiMe North East 
Disruptor for Good  Mandy Coppin Streetwise Young People’s Project North East 
Disruptor for Good  Aba Graham Stockport Race Equality Partnership North West 
Disruptor for Good  Eve Holt GM Moving North West 
Disruptor for Good  Yasmin Khan The Halo Project North East 
Disruptor for Good  Miriam Walker-Khan BBC Sport Yorkshire 
Disruptor for Good  Kay Wesley Kanga Health Ltd North West 
Mentor of the Year  Sophia Ali Minx Consulting Yorkshire 
Mentor of the Year  Annette  Bramley N8 Research Partnership North West 
Mentor of the Year  Mand Cashin MAGO North West 
Mentor of the Year  Stacey Dobson Sky North East 
Mentor of the Year  Natasha Hanson John G Russell Transport (Ltd) North West 
Mentor of the Year  Jacqueline Kawczak United Utiities North West 
Mentor of the Year  Ali Mcgrath The Women’s Organisation North West 
Mentor of the Year  Sophie Metcalf Expect Distribution Yorkshire 
Mentor of the Year  Susan Moore Anytime Fitness North West 
One to Watch  Afiya Amesu She Leads for Legacy North West 
One to Watch  Claudia Allison Bartholomew Pivot Academy Kirklees Yorkshire 
One to Watch  Hannah Cox betternotstop North West 
One to Watch  Ayisatu Emore Idaraya Life North West 
One to Watch  Lella Halloum IBM Yorkshire 
One to Watch  Teigan Higgins The Growth Company Yorkshire 
One to Watch  Lisa Maynard-Atem The Black United Representation Network North West 
One to Watch  Debbie Rogers Sean’s Place North West 
Outstanding Entrepreneur  Liz Ashall-Payne ORCHA North West 
Outstanding Entrepreneur  Kate Ball Mini First Aid Yorkshire 
Outstanding Entrepreneur  Jodie Hill Thrive Law Yorkshire 
Outstanding Entrepreneur  Fiona Hull Construction Q North West 
Outstanding Entrepreneur  Natalie Kenny BioGrad North West 
Outstanding Entrepreneur  Delight Mapasure K’s Wors Ltd North West 
Outstanding Entrepreneur  Monica Mwanje MM Creative Solutions Limited North West 
Outstanding Entrepreneur  Anna Sutton The Data Shed Yorkshire 
Person with Purpose  Emily Burns GF Community Foundation @ Great Annual Savings Group North East 
Person with Purpose  Collette Devlin-Smith EDGE NE North East 
Person with Purpose  Jennifer Greenan E-Verve Energy North West 
Person with Purpose  Alison Madgin Samantha’s Legacy North East 
Person with Purpose  Diane Morton Wag & Company North East Friendship Dogs Ltd North East 
Person with Purpose  Annalisa Toccara Adoptee Futures Yorkshire 
Person with Purpose  Victoria Wales Amazon North East 
Transformational Leader  Ann-marie Atkins Tilney Smith & Williamson North West 
Transformational Leader  Nicky Chance-Thompson The Piece Hall Yorkshire 
Transformational Leader Professor Shirley Congdon University of Bradford Yorkshire 
Transformational Leader  Sharon Davies Young Enterprise North West 
Transformational Leader  Steph Edusei St Oswald’s Hospice North East 
Transformational Leader  Katy Leeson Social Chain North West 
Transformational Leader  Liran Maller 2M Group of Companies North West 
Transformational Leader  Rose Marley Co-operatives UK North West 
Transformational Leader  Katrina Morley Tees Valley Education North East 
Innovation Award   Smart Works Newcastle North East 
Innovation Award   Girls in Charge North West 
Innovation Award   CNC Robotics North West 
Innovation Award   Women in Social Housing North East  North East 
Innovation Award   Tomorrow’s Women North West 
Innovation Award   GenM Yorkshire 
Small Organisation    UA92 North West 
Small Organisation    Grocery Girls North West 
Small Organisation    Industrial Technology Systems Ltd North East 
Small Organisation    Rugby Football League Yorkshire 
Small Organisation    SHINE Yorkshire 
Small Organisation    Wai Yin Society North West 
Small Organisation    Tech Returners North West 
Small Organisation    One Million Mentors North West 
Medium Organisation   ANS Group North West 
Medium Organisation   SafetyCulture North West 
Medium Organisation   2M Group of Companies North West 
Medium Organisation ‚ÄĮ Tensar International Ltd North West 
Large Organisation   Grant Thornton UK LLP North West 
Large Organisation   Home Group North East 
Large Organisation   Accenture North West 
Large Organisation   Bank of America North West 
Large Organisation   Tetra Tech Yorkshire 
Large Organisation   DXC Technology North East 
Large Organisation   Kellogg’s North West 
Large Organisation   Northern North West